Association of Atlantic Universities Announces Recipients of the AAU Regional Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership

(Dr. Emin Civi, University of New Brunswick, Saint John; Dr. Geoff Rideout, Memorial University; Dr. Mary Bluechardt, President
and Vice-Chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University; and Dr. Greg Doran, University of Prince Edward Island.) 


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - September 20, 2018


Halifax, NS - The Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) recognized its top teachers today in Halifax.  The recipients of the AAU’s annual regional awards for excellence in teaching and educational leadership were announced today at Saint Mary’s University, Halifax, NS.

The three AAU Teaching Award recipients are: Dr. Greg Doran, Department of English, University of Prince Edward Island; Charlottetown, PE; Dr. Geoff Rideout, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Memorial University, St. John’s, NL; and Dr. Emin Civi, Faculty of Business, University of New Brunswick, Saint John, NB. 

AAU member universities proposed nominees for the Teaching Awards program and recipients are selected by the AAU's Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development.

Dr. Civi received the 2018 AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Educational Leadership Award for a demonstrated commitment to the improvement of university teaching.

Dr. Doran and Dr. Rideout, each received the 2018 AAU Distinguished Teaching Award recognizing outstanding teaching over a number of years.

The AAU ( represents the 16 universities in Atlantic Canada and serves as an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region.




For further information, contact:
Peter Halpin, Executive Director, Association of Atlantic Universities
(902) 497-4419