AAU Announces Winners of the AAU Regional Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - September 5, 2013

HALIFAX, NS – The Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) this week announced the winners of the AAU’s regional awards for excellence in teaching and educational leadership.

The three AAU Teaching Award winners are: Dr. Bradley Cross, Department of History, St. Thomas University, Fredericton, NB; Dr. Russell Wyeth, Department of Biology, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, NS and Dr. Stephanie Inglis, School of Arts and Social Sciences, Cape Breton University, Sydney, NS.

AAU member universities proposed nominees for the Teaching Awards program. The winners are selected by the AAU's Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development.

Dr. Bradley Cross and Dr. Russell Wyeth, each receive the 2013 AAU Distinguished Teaching Award recognizing outstanding teaching over a number of years.

Dr. Stephanie Inglis receives the 2013 AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Educational Leadership Award for a demonstrated commitment to the improvement of university teaching.

The AAU represents the 16 universities in Atlantic Canada and the University of the West Indies. The AAU is an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region.

For further information, contact: 

Corina Kent (902) 425-4230/ (902) 483-3991