2021 Recipients of the AAU Regional Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership Announced

(Halifax, N.S.) - The Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) is pleased to announce the recipients of the AAU’s annual regional awards for excellence in teaching and educational leadership. 

The three AAU Teaching Award recipients are: Prof. Kate Krug, Department of L’nu, Political and Social Studies, Cape Breton University, Sydney, NS; Dr. Kailin Wright, Department of English, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, NS; and Dr. Magdalen Normandeau, Department of Physics, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB.  

AAU member universities proposed nominees for the Teaching Awards program and recipients are selected by the AAU's Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development. 

Dr. Normandeau received the 2021 AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Educational Leadership Award.  This award recognizes an individual who significantly influences teaching practice and the quality and breadth of student learning experiences beyond their own teaching assignment and context. 

Prof. Krug and Dr. Wright, each received the 2021 AAU Distinguished Teaching Award. This award recognizes excellence in university teaching over a number of years, primarily at the undergraduate level.  

“Great teaching is at the heart of what we do as universities and it is important to my fellow presidents to annually recognize and honour our top teachers,” said Allister Surette, Recteur, Université Sainte-Anne and Chair, AAU. 

The AAU (www.atlanticuniversities.ca) represents the 16 universities in Atlantic Canada and serves as an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region. 




For further information, contact: 
Peter Halpin, Executive Director, Association of Atlantic Universities 
(902) 497-4419