2019 Recipients of the AAU Regional Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership Announced

(Dr. Martin Wielemaker, University of New Brunswick; Dr. Alison Thompson, Dalhousie University; Dr. Amanada DiPaolo,
St. Thomas University; Dr. Mary Bluechardt, President and Vice-Chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University)


Association of Atlantic Universities Announces Recipients of the 2019 AAU Regional Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership


September 26, 2019

Fredericton, NB – Two scholars from Fredericton’s universities: Dr. Amanda DiPaolo, Human Rights Department, St. Thomas University and Dr. Martin Wielemaker, Faculty of Business Administration, University of New Brunswick, each received the 2019 Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) Distinguished Teaching Award, which recognizes outstanding teaching over a number of years. 

Dr. Alison Thompson, Department of Chemistry, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS received the 2019 AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Educational Leadership Award, which recognizes a sustained commitment over an extended period to the improvement of university teaching and learning.

The recipients of the AAU’s annual regional awards for excellence in teaching and educational leadership were announced today at the University of New Brunswick.

AAU member universities proposed nominees for the Teaching Awards program and recipients are selected by the AAU's Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development. Click here to view the citations.

The AAU (www.atlanticuniversities.ca) represents the 16 universities in Atlantic Canada and serves as an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region.


For further information, contact:
Peter Halpin, Executive Director, Association of Atlantic Universities
(902) 497-4419