2016 AAU Regional Awards in Teaching and Educational Leadership

Wednesday, September 21, 2016, 12 noon

SYDNEY, NS - The Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) announced the recipients of its annual regional awards for excellence in teaching and educational leadership today at Cape Breton University, Sydney, NS.

The three AAU Teaching Award recipients are: Dr. Matthias Bierenstiel, School of Science and Technology, Cape Breton University, Sydney, NS; Dr. Maryanne Fisher, Department of Psychology, Saint Mary’s University, Halifax, NS and Dr. Benedict Newling, Department of Physics, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB. Click here to view the Citations

AAU member universities proposed nominees for the Teaching Awards program and recipients are selected by the AAU's Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development.

Dr. Matthias Bierenstiel receives the 2016 AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Educational Leadership Award for a demonstrated commitment to the improvement of university teaching.

Dr. Maryanne Fisher and Dr. Benedict Newling, each receive the 2016 AAU Distinguished Teaching Award recognizing outstanding teaching over a number of years.

The AAU (www.atlanticuniversities.ca) represents the 16 universities in Atlantic Canada and serves as an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region.


For further information, contact:
Peter Halpin, Executive Director, Association of Atlantic Universities
(902) 497-4419